English Title: Zaregoto
Japanese Title: 戯言シリーズ – Zaregoto Series
Author: Nisio Isin — “NisiOisiN”
Illustrator: take
Translator: Greg Moore
Genre: Mystery, Psychological, Romance
Original Run: February 2002 – November 2005
English Run: July 2008 – June 2010 (Del Rey), 2017 – ongoing (Vertical)
Japanese Publisher: Kodansha
English Publisher: Del Rey, Vertical
Volumes in Japanese: 9 (followed by Ningen and Saikyou spin-off series)

Volumes in English: 3
Average Price Per Volume: Paperback — $14

Synopsis: It's the vacation of a lifetime, a trip to a remote island filled with geniuses–and murder. On Wet Crow's Feather Island, a tiny speck in the Sea of Japan, lives Akagami Iria, the exiled daughter of a powerful family. Born into great wealth, she was a princess of the highest pedigree–until she was cut off by the leader of the Akagami Foundation. For the last five years, she's lived on Feather Island with her maids. But she hasn't been alone. She has invited the best minds Japan has to offer to come and stay with her. And so nineteen-year-old college student Ii-chan and his best friend, computer genius Kunagisa Tomo, find themselves as Iria's guests at her elaborate mansion. Surrounded by fascinating women–a chef, a fortune-teller, a scholar, and an artist, not to mention his own friend Tomo–Ii-chan is feeling a little overmatched intellectually. But the sudden discovery of a grisly murder sends the island into shock. And Ii-chan discovers that he does possess a bit of genius: the ability to discover what is real and what is fake . . . who is who they claim to be–and who is a killer.

Del Rey Release 2008 & 2010

Volume 1 — Zaregoto: The Kubikiri Cycle
AmazonBarnes and Noble — Book Depository
Released July 22, 2008 — ISBN-13: 978-0345504272

Volume 2 — Zaregoto: The Kubishime Romanticist
AmazonBarnes and Noble — Book Depository
Released June 22, 2010 — ISBN-13: 978-0345505781

Vertical Release 2017 – Ongoing

Volume 1 — Decapitation: Kubikiri Cycle
Amazon -- Barnes and Noble -- Book Depository -- RightStuf
Released January 24, 2017 — ISBN-13: 978-1945054211

Volume 2 — Strangulation: Kubishime Romanticist
Amazon -- Barnes and Noble -- Book Depository -- RightStuf
Released January 24, 2017 — ISBN-13: 978-1945054839

Volume 3 — Suspension: Kubitsuri High School – The Nonsense User’s Disciple
Amazon -- Barnes and Noble -- Book Depository -- RightStuf
Released September 17, 2019 — ISBN-13: 978-1947194892

Reviews of Zaregoto

Illustrations Sampler

Anime Adaptation
Kubikiri Cycle: Aoiro Savant to Zaregototsukai
MAL Entry — 8 OVA episodes — Aired October 2016 – September 2017
Note: Adapted volume 1 of the light novel series

If you liked Zaregoto, you might also want to try…

If you find any errors or broken links in this entry, leave a comment!

13 thoughts on “Zaregoto

  1. Hello,
    is the English translation stopped with the second volume?
    in the VO there is 9 volume but i can’t find the third volume or the fourth :/

  2. Volume 2 Strangulation: Kubishime Romanticist will be out in February 2018 published by Vertical

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.