The Twelve Kingdoms

The Twelve Kingdoms
The Twelve Kingdoms

English Title: The Twelve Kingdoms
Japanese Title
: 十二国記 — Juuni Kokuki — “The Twelve Kingdoms”
Author: Fuyumi Ono
Illustrator: Akihiro Yamada
Translator: Alexander Smith
Genre: Fantasy, Drama, Romance
Original Run: 1992 – ongoing
English Run: 2008 – 2010
Volumes: 8
English Publisher: Tokyopop
Volumes Published in English: 4 (Discontinued)

Synopsis: Except for her red hair, Yoko Nakajima is a typical, obedient Japanese high-school student. Her life is fairly ordinary--that is, until Keiki, a unicorn in the guise of a young blond-haired boy, tells her that she is his master and must return to their kingdom. When the boy mysteriously vanishes, Yoko is left alone, confused, and wandering through a foreign land with nothing to help protect her save a magic sword and a magic stone. When Keiki suddenly appears at Yoko's school, little does she realize that her life is about to change. Lost in a strange land–without a map--and demons on her trail, Yoko begins her quest for both survival and self-discovery.

Volume 1: Sea of Shadow
AmazonBarnes and Noble — Book Depository

Volume 2: Sea of Wind
AmazonBarnes and Noble — Book Depository

Volume 3: The Vast Spread of the Seas
AmazonBarnes and Noble — Book Depository

Volume 4: Skies of Dawn
AmazonBarnes and Noble — Book Depository

Note: The light novels were released in both hardcover and paperback formats. Check to see which version you’re getting when you order online, as prices can vary between the two.

Any broken links or incorrect information? Any thoughts on these light novels?
Leave a comment!

2 thoughts on “The Twelve Kingdoms

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.